WEBINAR! A curriculum for foundational Research Data Science skills for Early Career Researchers - Tues 4 February 16:00 AEDT

WEBINAR! A curriculum for foundational Research Data Science skills for Early Career Researchers

Tuesday, 4 February 2020 , 16:00 AEDT / 15:30 ACDT / 15:00 AEST / 14:30 ACST / 13:00 AWST / 05:00 UTC

Link to Webinar Registration: https://register.gotowebinar.com/register/4475777989215322635

In this Webinar, Hugh Shanahan will present the curriculum and example materials developed by the RDA/CODATA Summer Schools in Data Science and Cloud Computing in the Developing World WG to give Early Career Researchers (ECRs) the foundational skills in Data Science to work with their data. This curriculum combines technical skills such as Software Carpentry, with responsible research practices such as Open and Responsible Research. In 2016 we ran one school in Trieste, Italy. In 2017 we ran two in Trieste, Italy and São Paulo, Brazil. In 2018 we ran three, in Trieste, Italy, São Paulo, Brazil, and Kigali, Rwanda. In 2019, we ran four, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, Trieste, Italy, Abuja, Nigeria and San José, Costa Rica. At the end of 2019, approximately 400 students had been taught on four continents using the curriculum developed.

More information: https://www.rd-alliance.org/curriculum-foundational-research-data-science-skills-early-career-researchers-1