Research Data Alliance 15th Plenary Meeting

Research Data Alliance 15th Plenary Meeting - 18-20 March 2020, Melbourne, Australia

download
The Research Data Alliance (RDA) is delighted to announce that its 15th Plenary Meeting, with the theme “Data for Real-World Impact”, will take place from 18 - 20 March 2020 in Melbourne, Australia, at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, MCEC (https://mcec.com.au/). The event will be hosted by CSIRO (Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation) with the support of the Australian Research Data Commons (ARDC). As one of the founding regions of RDA in 2013, Australia has always been a strong supporter and driver of RDA. Organising the Plenary meeting in Australia offers regional researchers and data professionals an opportunity to engage and work with the RDA community, as well as offering the international data community the unique chance to learn more about the exciting activities and developments in the Australian data landscape.

The RDA Plenary meeting will be organised in conjunction with the annual C3DIS (Collaborative Conference on Computational and Data Intensive Science), taking place in Melbourne on 16 - 18 March 2020. C3DIS aims to build a national community of practice of scientists, researchers, and computing, data and information management specialists. All of these professionals share a common interest: the production of breakthrough science outcomes that require large scale, complex computations and analyses to be carried out over massive data sets.

Mark the dates in your diary and check https://www.rd-alliance.org/plenaries/rda-15th-plenary-meeting-australia for updates.

Important Deadlines:

Please note: The deadline for the Call for Sessions for the RDA Plenary has been extended to 5 December 2019, 23:59 UTC.

The Call for Sessions for the RDA Plenary is now closed.

Registration for the Plenary has opened, with the Early Bird rate finishing on 14 February 2020.

The Call for Co-located Events is now open and closes on 15 January 2020.

The Call for Posters is also open, closing on 20 January 2020.

For more information, please visit the Plenary 15 page on the RDA Web site.

Please note: The following deadlines have been extended:

The Call for Co-located Events now closes on 29 January 2020.

The Call for Posters now closes on 29 January 2020.

For more information, please visit the Plenary 15 page on the RDA Web site.

WEBINAR! A curriculum for foundational Research Data Science skills for Early Career Researchers

Tuesday, 4 February 2020, 16:00 AEDT / 15:30 ACDT / 15:00 AEST / 14:30 ACST / 13:00 AWST / 05:00 UTC

Link to Webinar Registration: https://register.gotowebinar.com/register/4475777989215322635

In this Webinar, Hugh Shanahan will present the curriculum and example materials developed by the RDA/CODATA Summer Schools in Data Science and Cloud Computing in the Developing World WG to give Early Career Researchers (ECRs) the foundational skills in Data Science to work with their data. This curriculum combines technical skills such as Software Carpentry, with responsible research practices such as Open and Responsible Research. In 2016 we ran one school in Trieste, Italy. In 2017 we ran two in Trieste, Italy and São Paulo, Brazil. In 2018 we ran three, in Trieste, Italy, São Paulo, Brazil, and Kigali, Rwanda. In 2019, we ran four, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, Trieste, Italy, Abuja, Nigeria and San José, Costa Rica. At the end of 2019, approximately 400 students had been taught on four continents using the curriculum developed.

More information: https://www.rd-alliance.org/curriculum-foundational-research-data-science-skills-early-career-researchers-1

REMINDER: Register today for RDA Plenary 15 (18-20 March, Melbourne, Australia) to get the early bird registration rate. Early bird registration closes on 14 February 2020 at 23:59 UTC.

Check out the Plenary programme with over 60 different breakout sessions covering topics including:

  • the FAIR Agenda
  • Disciplinary Approaches
  • Underpinning Infrastructure
  • Data Management
  • Content Concerns
  • Skills/Human issues
  • Global Perspective
  • Indigenous Data Issues

More information on the 15th RDA Plenary can be found at https://www.rd-alliance.org/plenaries/rda-15th-plenary-meeting-australia

RDA Plenary 15 CANCELLED

The 15th RDA Plenary Meeting, scheduled to take place from 18-20 March 2020 in Melbourne Australia, has been cancelled.

For more information, please visit

RDA Plenary 15 has gone virtual!

Join us for the virtual RDA Plenary from 18 March - 10 April! Check out the programme here: https://www.rd-alliance.org/rda-virtual-plenary-programme (all times in UTC) - sessions are being added daily. We already have a great programme, including our keynotes, which are scheduled for 24 March and 7 April 2020.