NCI-Pawsey HPC COVID-19 Australian Response Showcase, Friday 31 July 2020

HPC COVID-19 Australian Response Showcase

Friday 31 July 2020
10:00 am - 12:00 noon (UTC+7, Jakarta)
11:00 am - 1:00 pm (UTC+8, Jakarta)
1:00 pm - 3:00pm (UTC+10, Canberra AEST)
Via ZOOM

In early April, Australia’s Tier 1 supercomputing facilities, Pawsey Supercomputing Centre (Pawsey) and National Computational Infrastructure (NCI), joined forces to offer additional computation and data resources to support the national and international research community to acquire, process, analyse, store and share data supporting COVID-19 research.

Both facilities contributed extensive resources to assist researchers in the fight to overcome COVID-19. Through this initiative, researchers throughout Australia are now working with NCI which is currently supporting three targeted projects with more than 40 million units of compute time on the Gadi supercomputer; and Pawsey Supercomputer Centre, which provides access across five projects to over 1100 cores on the newly deployed Nimbus cloud.

During this event you will hear updates from ‘hands-on’ researchers working on understanding the lineage of the virus, making statistical inference about potential treatment outcomes, COVID-19 targets molecular modelling and more. There will be an opportunity to network with presenters in a relaxed online environment, and a Q&A session will be held at the end of the discussion.

Learn how HPC resources are used in:

  • Targeting structural transitions in the COVID fusion protein
  • Molecular modelling COVID-19 targets
  • Using large-scale molecular dynamics for rational drug design
  • Galaxy Australia COVID-19 Dedicated Pulsar
  • SARS, SARS-Cov-2 and MERS are the Same Viral Species, Clades within Bat Beta-Coronaviruses