CAIPSDCC Webinar Reminder - Wildlife Trade, Zoonotic Disease, and Pandemic, 18 June 2020

CAIPSDCC Webinar Reminder - Wildlife Trade, Zoonotic Disease, and Pandemic, 18 June - 13:00 (UTC+7 hours-JKT & HAN), 14:00 (UTC+8-KUL & MNL), 16:00 (UTC+10-AEST)

How could diseases be transmitted from wild animals to humans? How do wildlife trade and wet markets increase the potential of the emergence of zoonotic diseases? How could this lead to an epidemic or a pandemic? What could we do to prevent this from happening again in the future? How does the way we are managing our landscapes affect the increase in zoonotic diseases? Let’s find the answer with the experts.

Trigger Speakers:

  1. Prof. Hamish McCallum, Head of Griffith Wildlife Disease Ecology Group, Griffith School of Environment, Griffith University.
  2. Dr. Noviar Andayani, Country Director of Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS) Indonesia Program & Lecturer in Biology Studies, Universitas Indonesia.
  3. Dr. Esther Onyango, Research Fellow, Planetary Health Environmental Futures Research Institute, Griffith University.

Opening speech: Prof. Jatna Supriatna, Director of the Institute for Sustainable Earth and Resources (I-SER), Universitas Indonesia.
Session chair: Maggie Muurmans, Researcher at Griffith University.

This is the fifth webinar of a CAIPSDCC weekly webinar series. It is organised by the Collaborative Australia-Indonesia Programs on Sustainable Development and Climate Change (CAIPSDCC), a collaboration between Universitas Indonesia and Griffith University. This webinar will be conducted in English.

Request for e-certificate is available for those who register, participate through the webinar, and send the request before the due time. Guidelines for the e-certificate requests will be announced during the webinar.

For more information: Hendika (+62 898 8945 409) or email caipsdcc@sci.ui.ac.id.

Register here: tinyurl.com/caipsdcc6